SMA Liaison John J. Scott SMA Illinois Liaison

Eric Hendrickson

[email protected]

State Coordinators: 

Illinois Department of Natural Resources

Jim Tresouthick    Urban Conservation Program Admin
[email protected]

People You Should Know

Illinois Arborist Association Executive Director: April Toney 877-617-8887 [email protected]

Illinois Urban and Community Forestry Committee Chairperson: Robert Sproule [email protected]

Illinois Arborist Association Board of Directors:

Coming Events in State

June 29, 2019                                                       SRT Climbing Workshop the Mulch Center Deerfield, IL

July 16 & 17, 2019                                               IAA Summer Conference Champaign, IL

July 18 & 19, 2019                                               Urban Forest Strike Team Training Urbana, IL

August 23, 2019                                                   2019 Golf Outing St. Andrews Golf & Country Club West Chicago, IL

September 4 – November 6, 2019                   Certified Arborist Workshops and Exam, Homewood, IL

September 28, 2019                                           Illinois Tree Climbing Championship Shiloh Park Zion, IL

November 5 & 6, 2019                                       IAA Annual Conference and Trade Show Tinley Park, ILNational Events of Interest

August 11-14, 2019                                             ISA Annual International Conference and Trade Show, Knoxville, TN

November 20 – 21, 2019                                   Partners in Community Forestry Conference, Cleveland, OH

Links of Interest

Illinois Arborist Association:


International Society of Arboriculture:

Il Dept. of Natural Resources – Urban and Community Forestry:

Trees are Good:

Morton Arboretum:

Chicago Botanic Garden:

Tree Fund:

Arbor Day Foundation – IL:

U of I Pesticide Safety Education Program:  

University of Illinois Extension:

College of Dupage Horticulture Department:

Joilet Junior College Urban Forestry/Arboriculture:

Illinois Dept. of Ag EAB:

Illinois Urban Wood:

Wisconsin Arborist Association:


Tree Care Industry Association:

Il Dept. of Labor Prevailing Wage – Landscaping FAQ:

American Forests:

Chicago Regional Trees Initiative:

SMA New Member Incentive: Get one year of the SMA magazine City Trees FREE on a trial basis. Please join your peers in this international community of practice. Sign up here!


I have been involved urban forestry since discovering the field as a summer seasonal for the University of Michigan’s Forestry Department in 1991. After a brief stint at Hendricksen, the Care of Trees , I moved to the Village of Glen Ellyn - Forestry in late 1992, working  up to the crew leader/supervisor position.  In 2013, I became the Forestry Supervisor for the Village of Lombard. 

  • Certified Arborist since 1993
  • TRAQ obtained 2015
  • 2015 elected Illinois Municipal Chair, re-elected 2017
  • ISA Municipal Specialist 2017
  • Member of Chicago Regional Trees Initiative Tree Planting and Stewardship work group